The 2016 Scotiabank Giller Prize



A jury of 5, including Kathleen Winter, Jeet Heer, Samantha Harvey, Alan Warner and Lawrence Hill, narrowed down the Giller Prize long list to 6 entries on Monday. Once again, Windsor’s very own Biblioasis published a book that is included in the very prestigious final 6. The 6 Scotiabank Giller Prize finalists are:

You can put any of these books on hold today at WPL by clicking their links.

The Scotiabank Giller Prize was established in 1994 by businessman Jack Rabinovitch, who wanted to do this in honour of his late wife Doris Giller. Every year a novel or short story collection written by a Canadian is chosen.  Previous winners of this award include Joseph Boyden, Vincent Lam, Alice Munro and Margaret Atwood, along with many other very talented and accomplished Canadian writers. This year, the winner of the award will receive $100,000  and each of the finalists will also receive $10,000. We can look forward to the announcement of the winner on November 7th.

Written by

No Comments Yet.

Leave a reply