Famous Windsorites

Famous Windsorites

Welcome to the Famous Windsorites portal. This unique database was started in November 2015 to help WPL better serve our customers. As library staff answer customer questions about famous Windsor residents we have posted our research on-line to share with the entire community. This is an ongoing project, we are adding 2-3 biographies weekly. It is by no means an exhaustive list of all the great people who have called Windsor, Ontario home, but it is a start.

We would like to thank all of the people who have contributed to our database and if you have a famous Windsorite you would like to see added to the portal, please contact our local history expert Tom Vajdik at tvajdik@windsorpubliclibrary.com or call 519-255-6770 ext. 4434.


Howard Douglas McCurdy Charles Brooks Ken Lewenza, Sr.
Pat Noonan Maynard “Sam” George


Iain Baxter&  Frances Gage Jeff Lemire
Kenneth “Ken” Saltmarche


Salvatore Ala Herb Colling Christopher Paul Curtis
Marisa De Franceschi Marty Gervais Martin Gibala
Barbara Gowdy David Hunter Hubel Robert Knuckle
Alistair MacLeod Spider Jones Eugene McNamara
Shawn Micallef Irene Moore Davis Carl Morgan
Veronique Perrier Mandal Nino Ricci Anna Maria Tremonti
Paul Vasey

Athletes & Sports

Joanne (Bouw) Berdan Reno Bertoia Hank Biasatti
Melissa Bishop Bob Boughner Bill Bowler
Mike Brkovich Stubby Clapp Jay Justin Clarke
Dennis Fairall Ron Fellows FORD V-8’s Basketball Team
Adam Graves Art Grundy Frank Hayden
Ed Jovanovski Rick “Chico” Kehoe Ruth Kerr
Walter Kowalski Bill Larochelle John Loaring
Siro Martinello Kylie Masse Brandon McBride
Noelle Montcalm Gerry Ouellette Robert R. “Bob” Panasik
Bob Probert Joel Quenneville Warren Rychel
Larry Shreve AKA Abdullah the Butcher Mary Spencer Dr. Andrea (Page) Steen
Dave Steen Eli Sukunda Misty Thomas
Joe Turner John Upham Kelly-Ann Way


Matthew Bendo Art Cervi Dorothy Collins
Colm Feore Angus MacInnes Jacqueline MacInnes Wood
Sophie Nélisse David Sobolov Christian Vincent


The Dodge Brothers W.F. “Bill” Chisholm Yves Landry
Tommy Lasorda Mike Lazaridis Gordon McGregor
Moise “Mose” Menard John Paul Reddam Hiram Walker
Felix Watts

Law & Order

Milton “Whitey” Benoit Patrick Brode Francis Wilfred Chauvin
Michael Callan Harry Low Judge Bruce MacDonald
Detective Alton C. Parker  Tecumseh

Library Community

John Muir Dr. Peter R. Frise Anne Hume
Fred C. Israel Reginald Brian Land Angus McGill Mowat

Musicians/Music Producers

The Chantones Emilia Cundari Marguerite Gignac
Garth Hudson Jack Scott Skip Spence
The Tea Party Rosalie Trombley Shania Twain
Tamia Washington (Hill) Alexander Zonjic

Notable Buildings, Things and Events

Abars Ambassador Bridge Art in the Park
The Detroit-Canada Tunnel Devonshire Lodge aka the Low-Martin House FRED (Bookmobile)
International Freedom Festival The Great Canadian Flag Project Hiram Walker Statue/ Roundabout
The Joseph Turner Memorial Cup Justice (the dog) Metropolitan Store Explosion
Peche Island Sandwich Fire Hall Tornado – 1946
Willistead Manor Windsor Arena AKA “The Barn” Windsor Flood 2016
Windsor Hum


Father Paul A. Charbonneau Sister Lenore Gibb John Howie McGivney
Louis Lawrence Odette Anthony (Tony) Toldo Norman Clifford Young


The Hon. Charles Eusebe Casgrain Elizabeth Shaughnessy Cohen Joe Comartin
The Hon. David Arnold Croll Drew Dilkens The Hon. Herb Gray
Cecil Jackson Hon. William Kennedy, P.C. Paul Edgar Philippe Martin Jr.
Paul Joseph James Martin Arthur John Reaume Howard Russell Pawley
Albert (Bert) Weeks


Biblioasis Black Moss Press Chris Edwards & Elaine Weeks (Walkerville Publishing)
W.F. Herman Mary Ann Shadd


General Isaac Brock Ralph Mayville Stanley Scislowski
Major Fred Albert Tilston George William Wiley